WhitenoiseWhitehouse

White noise from The White House

Consider it pure joy

Those of you Facebook fanatics no doubt saw my status last night about Avery. I literally believe it is not possible to experience any more joy than what she exhibited. Frankly it has energized me in the last day. But yet, how much joy am I…or many adults…emanating? Life’s troubles do seem to be an invisible millstone hung around our necks. Avery’s…and other children’s pure joy bring visibility to my grumpy, joy-less ways. I hope to begin to live more carefree but it is hard to imagine it working because of either habitual training or natural hardwiring forces me to think so frequently of accomplishing tasks…exhibit A was tonight: Avery takes her first tinkle on the big girl potty…and I run out to get M&Ms as reward…only to rush to Home Depot to grab a new entry light for Ravlin to install with siding…and get the candy ther. Yes, it’s efficient but living so strategically and tactically and efficiently has it’s way of limiting joy. Conversely when I am lazy or inefficient I feel frustrated that I have such a long to do list…

James 1:2-4
2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything

I think James was speaking of something else…but I like the first four words…

I will try to update this with a picture from last night if at all possible.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

